EventS · FeelingS

How to Keep Your Point in an argument

Just an example of how to write an email to a person who walks out on you in the middle of a meeting leaving you stranded…

Hi Loser,

 

First of all, I am surprised that you walked out of the meeting just because you weren’t ready to handle an unforeseen situation. If you have taken a responsibility you must see it through till the end. You have put our event in jeopardy.

You told me, since the beginning, that you did not want a presentation and wanted to do something “different”. I still don’t know the definition of your “different”.

On Thursday you told me over the phone that you were ready with your “different” and that you would send it to me on Friday. Finally, I was relieved that you had done something substantial and that I would get it by Friday morning so that I could add my own questions as well.

 

I hope you knew the deadline was 1pm on Saturday as even after my continuous reminders to you via text and calls on Friday, my inbox was empty. The mail as I can see in my inbox was received at “Sat, Aug 16, 2014 at 11:51 AM”. You still sent it to me an hour before the deadline. How is a normal human being supposed to understand your concept without any pointers and edit it without your approval. After all, you were the owner of the document.

 

I have taken the time to look at it carefully and I see that you have somehow changed the “General Guidelines” which was previously approved by the Core Committee. The following are the errors in your guidelines:

  1. “1 team per college”
    approved – “2 team per college”
  2. “3 Members in each team.”
    approved – “2 members per team”

 

You never explained how the quiz is supposed to be executed.
Is it supposed to be read out to the teams via the quiz-master (which, according to you, we don’t have because you did not wish to) or is it supposed to be displayed on the screen. If at all it is supposed to be displayed on the screen, why does it have the answers written next to it.

In the Word Search Puzzle section, how would we show it on the screen if the answers are right next to it. The prelims sheet which is supposed to be given as the hand-out to the participants have the answers attached to it as well and is along with the rest of the document.

And I am sorry to tell you that, few of your questions have the wrong choice selected as the answer.

 

After mailing the doc to me, you never checked what happened to our quiz. Whether I faced any difficulties, whether the committee accepted the questions, whether we agree on the format of the quiz. You just sent the doc to me like a boss would send it to a subordinate. Even worse, you forgot to check it.

 

With all the above errors in the document, I took matters into my own hands.
I asked for extra time from the core committee and finally submitted the prelims at “Sun, Aug 17, 2014 at 9:20 PM” and sent the ppt at “Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 12:51 AM”.

 

I also managed to arrange for a quiz master but forgot to inform you about it. Hence, attaching the details here forth:

 

Date Time Quiz Master
20th August 2014 1400 hrs Ms X
21st August 2014 1000 hrs Mr Y,
IT Head, XYZ Ltd.

 

Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to say that some of your ideas didn’t seem feasible to me and I would not have implemented them as long as I am part of the quiz.

 

Anyway, what’s done is done and I regret that I did not keep you in the loop believing all this while that you were not enthusiastic enough looking at your procrastinating attitude.

It still doesn’t explain why you would walk out of the meeting. If you have enough guts to walk out, please at least have the courtesy to explain your plan of action to me and where I went wrong in understanding you.

 

I hope to keep this strictly official and hence, would expect you to reply by email.

Leave a Reply

