FeelingS

Thee Foreign Friends…and beyond…

I know I have been blogging on this page after a long time…or probably would have never returned if it wasn’t for my new friends…

Emma

Stella

Marcella

Cassandra

 

This is a post for all the Indians and foreigners out there who just keep guessing what I should do when the other is around or ,more appropriately, how do I approach the other…

But first let me tell you what happened with me the day I met the above mentioned friends, or rather, strangers at the first meeting of ours…

Although I am pretty shy kind of a guy and don’t talk to strangers at all but something which my Mamaji(uncle) said always keep haunting me…and that goes like this…”You should always say HI to someone you want to approach to”…

Well this day I guess I was all pumped up for a reason I can’t remember…Oh now I do…It was the first time I was having dinner in food-court after I had come to Manipal…and day I took a stand to eat in the mess and the other friends of the group said they were going to Dominos’…though four out of seven reached mess i.e. Nishit, Pulkit, Shashank and me… We all were having dinner on the veg-section when a really tall foreigner girl (Emma) crossed our table…Not just once but thrice…

So we looked at her and we giggled…I guess she dint notice… After dinner as proceeded to keep our plates I saw a whole group of foreign students sitting on a table… So I asked Nishit if he could lend me the camera to click the photograph of the tallish girl… He resisted at first but eventually he gave it to me… then I thought that they will back me up when I will talk to them…but it turned out to be just the opposite… the time I reached their they were all gone… somehow with my uncommon insanity I directly headed for the tallish girl who was quietly having her dinner and asked her if I could get a picture clicked with her and all the girls who were sitting on that table were like…”WHY??/”…with a eerie and strange emotions on their face… That was the first time I felt really stupid and idiot of me and realized that I had done something really wrong… I had a strange feeling in my gut and wasn’t prepared to face their question…so I said whatever came to m mind and said…”Because she is adorableI repeated that sentence 4-5 times…I did…and guys you wouldn’t believe how much I had to answer to those girls after that… I was ashamed of myself at moment of time as they continued to make me realize my mistake… they said some things which was really embarrassing for me as well…I did smt which I had never done in my life…I stammered…neways…

So eventually they we cut a deal that I would be their friends and they will think about letting me take their picture…and I believe that’s a fair one…I can’t force it …I have to earn it…

That was a brief history of a day I never want to see or hear about in my life…

Morale is that…

We Indians always want to talk to interact with other people and so they do…but we just don’t have enough guts or he right method…I tried a new one and failed…I guess I should have stuck to plan of saying “HIfor the record…all the above mentioned people are good friend of mine…and we chat a lot over dinner…

Hoping to write back soon with much enlightening excerpts from my life…

Leave a Reply

